What I Did On The Weekend

I trotted with my friends to 19 East last Saturday night to catch Up Dharma Down, who plays there regularly every first Friday of the month. I’m only becoming a fan now, although I’ve been seeing them live since 2009. The thing about friendship is that you acquire each other’s preferences in music. They’re the reason I got into Lana Del Rey, and I’m the reason they each have a favorite member of Girls Generation.

It was a windy night, with scattered lightning constantly illuminating Laguna lake on the horizon. If I had a car and more moolah in college I would’ve probably written my thesis there. There was enough wind to keep the next table’s cigarette smoke from sticking to your clothes.

The band’s vocals, Armi, was just getting lovelier and lovelier every time I see her.

After their set we drove back to Alabang to eat. And I had to borrow a hundred bucks from my friend because the ATM wouldn’t dispense money.

I got home at three in the morning, took a bath and slept. And I slept all day long, only briefly leaving the bed for breakfast and lunch. It was the best part of my weekend yet! And I didn’t get up until almost four in the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

