“Roar,” “Wrecking Ball,” and the UAAP Cheerdance Competition

There’s a lot to like about Katy Perry’s newest music video. With all the colors and the tiger, it actually reminded me of Ang Lee’s Life Of Pi. I was loath to see the vain boyfriend get eaten by the tiger too soon! But well, obviously he held Katy down, and she needed to be queen of the jungle ASAP.

Many people, on the other hand, felt the opposite about Miley Cyrus’ newest video. The internet was abuzz with comments, most of them spiteful, about Miley straddling a gigantic wrecking ball naked. Frankly, and to plagiarize one Youtube comment I’ve read, I think Miley’s the perfect example of not giving a f*ck.

sloth

Miley the sloth here couldn’t care less, too.

Miley is totally fit and I have no problem with her showing off all her hard work at the gym, however she wishes to do it. Let’s lay off a bit on bashing her, people, and let a pop star be, well, a damn pop star!

In other news, NU bagged the UAAP cheerdance title for the first time ever. I heard they’ve recruited top gymnasts from the last Palarong Pambansa. In my honest and biased opinion, UP’s routine was still superior, both in difficulty and the wow factor. But they had too many mistakes. I liked La Salle’s too, and I correctly predicted they’d place in the top three this year.

If there’s one thing I didn’t like about the whole spectacle, it was that all those lithe and nimble young men and women made me feel extremely fat and sedentary.

One thought on ““Roar,” “Wrecking Ball,” and the UAAP Cheerdance Competition

Leave a Reply

