I mean to read about the earthquake in Bohol, really. Already my newsfeed is filled with speculation–did the Chocolate Hills crumble? what could have happened if it struck Metro Manila instead? As I aimlessly click on the links however, I find my whole screen dissolving into your Facebook profile. It is hard not to go away from your wall and your photos. Yes, I have seen them, but I can’t resist ogling some more. Your beach photos are my favorite: you wearing so little and flaunting so much. I almost wince–smile?–as the familiar tremors begin to creep up my body. With a sigh, I topple from my swivel chair into the frothy depths of midweek delusions. I know you aren’t two hours away, in the city built over a fault line, oblivious to my devastation.

Leave a Reply

